Ionian Islands
Corfu, Paxos, Lefkada, Ithaca, Kefalonia, Zakynthos, Kythira

Ionian Islands

The Ionian Islands are a group of islands in the Ionian Sea in western Greece, and thus their name. They are all characterized by green hills and mountains, incredible blue sea and majestic architecture of the buildings inherited from the Venetians.

The main islands are as follows from the north to the south:

- Corfu (Corfu is its international name but Greeks call it Kerkyra)
- Paxos or Paxi (in fact, Paxos is the island, and Paxi is a group of a few small islands, including the scenic Antipaxos)
- Lefkada (also known as Lefkas)
- Ithaca
- Kefalonia
- Zakynthos (Zante)
- Kythira (part of the Ionian group but located below Peloponnese and managed by Attica)

In the group there are other inhabited islands (eg. Mathraki, Othonoi, Ereikoussa, Kastos, Kalamos), but they are really small and tourists visit them mainly for a daily trip.

highlights: Corfu, Paxos, Lefkada, Ithaca, Kefalonia, Zakynthos, Kythira, region in Greece

Photos from Ionian Islands
Ionian IslandsCloser viewIonian IslandsThe ultimate blueSomewhere in the Old TownThe ultimate blueFrom the other side of the bridgeBlue and greenIonian Islandsstone paved inner village streetIonian IslandsIonian IslandsIonian IslandsThe Glass Bottom boat from GaiosView from the road Lakones-Makrades
Address and contacts
Location: view on map

Ionian Islands photo gallery