North Greece

geographic area occupying the northernmost part
North Greece

North Greece Travel Guide

The geographic area of North Greece occupies the northernmost part of the country. It includes three large administrative regions of Greece:
1. East Macedonia and Thrace: occupying the northeasternmost area, it boast long and almost empty sandy beaches. It includes the following regional units:
- Evros Region
- Rhodopi Region
- Xanthi Region
- Kavala Region
- Drama Region
2. Central Macedonia: the largest in area and the second most populated region after Attica. It includes seven regional units among which Halkidiki peninsula is a prime holiday destination of the area and attracts thousands of tourists every summer, offering all kinds of facilities and superb beaches. The regional units are:
- Thessaloniki Region
- Imathia Region
- Kilkis Region
- Pella Region
- Pieria Region, known as the Olympic Riviera
- Serres Region
3. Western Macedonia: this is the only Greek region without sea outlet but there are two big ski centers in Florina and Grevena, and some of the villages and towns have preserved old houses. It includes the regional units:
- Florina Region
- Grevena Region
- Kastoria Region
- Kozani Region

highlights: geographic area occupying the northernmost part, region in Greece
Photos from North Greece

More about North Greece

North Greece photo gallery