Evros Region

north region close to the border with Turkey and Bulgaria

Evros Region

Evros Region

Evros is one of the thirteen administrative divisions of Greece and belongs to the regional unit of East Macedonia and Thrace. It borders Bulgaria to the north and Turkey to the east, so most foreign tourists there are from these two countries. Capital of Evros is the city of Alexandroupoli.

The island of Samothraki (Samothrace) administratively belongs to Evros, too, although it is practically an island from the group of North Aegean islands.

The seaside area of Evros is not so large and includes the beaches of Alexandroupoli and those around the village of Makri. The most famous of them are:

- Alex beach (the municipal beach of Alexandroupoli)
- Nea Chili
- Makri
- Agia Paraskevi
- Dikela
- Kokkina Vrahia - a group of small bays with red cliffs

highlights: north region close to the border with Turkey and Bulgaria, region in North Greece, Greece

More about Evros Region

Evros Region photo galleryx