Dodecanese Islands

group of islands in south Aegean sea

Nerantzia castle in Kos town

Dodecanese Islands

The Dodecanese is a group of islands located in the southern area of Aegean Sea and most of them are closer to Turkey than to Greece. The name literally means twelve islands because the group consists of 12 larger and 150 smaller islands.

The 12 larger islands are: Astypalea, Kalymnos, Karpathos, Kasos, Kos, Leros, Nisyros, Patmos, Rhodes, Symi, Tilos and Kastellorizo, of which only 3 are popular among tourists: Rhodes, Kos and Patmos.


Nerantzia castle in Kos townTraditional coffee shop Toy Nikola kafenion at the village centerTourists ascending from the volcanic craterThe first houses on the narrow street towards the centerBasilica of Agios Stefanos

highlights: group of islands in south Aegean sea, region in Greece

Destinations in Dodecanese Islands

More about Dodecanese Islands

Dodecanese Islands photo galleryx