Ionian Islands

The Ionian Islands are a group of islands in the Ionian Sea in western Greece, and thus their name.

The main islands are as follows from the north to the south:

- Corfu (Corfu is its international name but Greeks call it Kerkyra)
- Paxos or Paxi (in fact, Paxos is the island, and Paxi is a group of a few small islands)
- Lefkada (also known as Lefkas)
- Ithaca
- Kefalonia
- Zakynthos (Zante)

In the group there are other inhabited islands (eg, Mathraki, Meganissi, Erikoussa etc.), but they are small, with population less than 100 residents. Tourists visit them for walk, not for accommodation. A few years ago Cythera was also part of the Ionian islands but after the newest administrative division it now belongs to Attica region.

highlights: Corfu, Paxos, Lefkada, Ithaca, Kefalonia, Zakynthos, region in Greece

Ionian Islands